Hand-made Hearts

For the upcoming Valentine’s Day, my three-year old son and I sat down to make some cards. I put construction paper, glitter, his “special” scissors (which do not cut hair, clothing or anything else besides paper) and some rubber stamps onto the table. My son immediately dived into this new project with enthusiasm. I watched in growing dismay as I saw that his idea of “pretty” and my idea of “pretty” was very different. As he labored away happily, I had to resist the urge to lean over and smooth out an edge here-remove some excess glitter there…. I forced myself to sit back and watch. And then I learned something. My son thought his Valentines were beautiful–just the way they were–jagged edges and all–because he had made them. I had a thought: are we not all Hand-made hearts? We are all shaped differently, some with more “glitter” than others, some with rougher edges–but our Maker loves us all equally and looks at us with pride and joy. We are “very good.” [Genesis 1:31]

It is our own ideas and ideals of beauty and perfection that steal our joy.

I leaned back from the table and smiled at my son and told him the truth. “Those are absolutely beautiful.” He smiled back and then ran off to play.

It’s amazing when God lets you see a simple truth–hand-made and wrapped in rough construction paper.

heart The LORD your God is in your midst,
a mighty one who will save;
he will rejoice over you with gladness;
he will quiet you by his love;
he will exult over you with loud singing.

(Zephaniah 3:17 ESV)

Further reading: Psalms 97:11, Eccl. 3:11

Leave a Reply

