The Weight of the Sky

4746718211_f3892a7cb9_m
image credit: DannyKBoyd/Flickr

One afternoon as I was sitting in heavy traffic; a Question/Answer written on the bag sitting beside me ( from a popular southern fast food chain) caught my attention. Q: “How much does a cloud weigh?” A: “A million pounds.” I was stunned. I looked up into the sky where there were dozens of white, fluffy clouds drifting about. It is hard to comprehend so much weight hanging overhead –and then try thinking about how much the entire world must weigh!

“He stretches out the north over the void
and hangs the earth on nothing.”
(Job 26:7 ESV)

Someone who can hold a cloud in the sky, or hang the entire earth on nothing, is indeed very powerful. It is both awe-inspiring and incredibly comforting at the same time. How wonderful for us that this same Person invites us to put our burdens onto His shoulders. He can carry it! He is, after all, already holding the entire universe.

“For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”
(Matthew 11:30 ESV)

Further reading: I Peter 5:7

http://www.ask.com/science/much-clouds-weigh-ee39f2412bbf2cf2

Leave a Reply

