Our Rock

I have always loved the ocean. I have always been amazed by its beauty, and at times, afraid of its fearsome power. I remember standing at the edge of the ocean, wiggling my toes and letting the waves pull the sand from beneath my feet.  I would sink slowly into the sand until I was ankle-deep. I often would reach down with my fingers into the ocean and try to grab some of the shimmering sand from the ocean floor.  I can still feel the warm water trickle between my fingers, and no matter how tightly I clenched my fist, I can still see the sand dribble back down into the ocean from where it came.

Is that not how life is?

Time flows around us, just like a swift ocean current. We hold on, as it were, to the shifting sands of people, places, things. And, no matter how tightly we clench them in our fists, we will eventually watch them slide away from us. Is it not a wonder that tears are also salty?

To what then, can we–do we– hold onto? A Rock.

“The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer,
my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge,
my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.”
(Psalm 18:2)

God is the only Person that we can hold on to in this world. People may let go of us in relationships, or in time,  be swept away by death. Places and things will eventually fade and rust and crumble away. God has been here before eternity and will be still standing throughout eternity. He never ends. Time swirls around Him, but He stands still. While we are desperately sifting the sand around us, He holds us. When we are afraid of the waves, He is our place of refuge. And when we feel no one else near, He has always been there.

“He sent from on high, he took me;
he drew me out of many waters.”
(Psalm 18:16)

Only God is or can be our salvation. There is No one like Him.

“For who is God, but the Lord? And who is a rock, except our God?”  (Psalm 18:31)

He is actively involved in our lives, every moment, watching over us.

“You have given me the shield of your salvation,
and your right hand supported me,
and your gentleness made me great.
You gave a wide place for my steps under me,
and my feet did not slip.”
(Psalm 18:35-36)

Let us look away from the sand and sea beneath and all around us. Let us unclench our fists and open them. And reaching out, let us grab His hand that has been waiting for us, all along. Let us hold on to our  Rock.

 “The LORD lives, and blessed be my rock,
and exalted be the God of my salvation—”
(Psalm 18:46)

Further reading: I Samuel 2:2, Psalm 28:1

Apostle

Leave a Reply

