The Love in the Mundane

I will restore the fortunes of my people Israel,

and they shall rebuild the ruined cities and inhabit them;

they shall plant vineyards and drink their wine,

and they shall make gardens and eat their fruit.”

Amos 9:14

There are many verses in the Bible that I have just sort of skimmed and only think of the lyrical tone and beauty of the language. Today something made me halt and re-read the above verse. For once I thought: Why so specific? Why such great detail about planting a vineyard, drinking, planting gardens and eating?

Then, I wondered.

As a mother, I have endless cares and concerns. I may not consciously worry about it, but I think about shelter, food, drink and clothing for my son. All of us think about these needs on some level. These needs are very real to us. I think this verse aptly illustrates: [that]

1) Jesus knows our needs. [shelter, food, drink]

2) He is not giving a vague proclamation about peace or a concept that we cannot grasp. It is literal, active and comforting.

[I will restore, they will rebuild, they shall plant, they shall drink, they shall eat]

3) Jesus is showing His love for us by His detailed care for us. He is addressing our fears, needs and even our desires. [eating the fruit of our labors in peace]

Does not a Creator know most about what His creation needs? Does He not understand our desires?

In His Word, Our Father literally spells it out his care for us! May we grasp it, remember it and truly see it for the great love that it is.

Casting all your anxieties on him, because He cares for you.” I Peter 5:7

Freedom

Further reading: Psalm 23; Matthew 6:25 & 28

Leave a Reply

