Fire and Water Prayer (a poem)

by Danielle Dumas

______________________________

Be the fire in my heart,

A pure, white-hot flame:

May it devour the darkness,

May I never be the same.

 

Let the fire

blaze high–

When my enemies draw near.

Let it scorch deceit; let it smother lies.

 

Be the rain in my soul-

Will you quench my thirst?

…My yearning, my wandering,

My pain and my hurt.

 

With steady gentleness

fall into my soul,

Make me a river

Out of this dry soil.

 

Where  fire and water meet–

let them combine.

May my tides

Be anchored, by Your deep.

 

Be the music in my mind,

A melody strong and sweet.

May it surge with compassion

And soar with thoughts of Thee.

 

You are the fire in my heart

A pure, white-hot flame.

devouring my darkness,

I will never be the same.

Leave a Reply

